image: Psychology Logo
image: Psychology Logo
image: UW - Madison Logo
image: Psychology Logo

2009 Archived News

October 2009

Department awarded 2009 APA Award for Culture of Service in Psychological Science
In announcing the award, the American Psychological Association President and Chair of the Committee on Scientific Affairs wrote "Your department exemplifies what a culture of service to the discipline should be, through its support of faculty serving on national boards and committees, editing journals, reviewing grant and research proposals, mentoring students and colleagues, participating on university committees, and making psychological science accessible to the general public. The department demonstrates its commitment to service by providing faculty role models and treating service as a valued part of academic activity."

Summer 2009
Graduate students awarded predoctoral fellowships
Several of our students have recently been awarded National Research Service Award (NRSA) fellowships from the National Institutes of Health:
Christine Moberg (sponsored by John Curtin) from the National Institute of Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism;
Jarrod Lewis-Peacock (sponsored by Brad Postle) from the National Institute of Mental Health;
Heather Priess (sponsored by Janet Hyde and Hill Goldsmith) from the National Institute of Mental Health.
Additionally, Amanda Taylor-Eggen & Dan Grupe each received honorable mention in the NSF predoctoral fellowship competition.
Kristin Javaras has been awarded the Academy of Eating Disorders / International Journal of Eating Disorders Early Career Investigator Award for 2009. Congrats to Java!

MAY 2009

We are pleased to announce the most recent edition of the Psychology Department newsletter, The Update. Click here for the pdf version.

Honors in Teaching
Professor Chuck Snowdon
and Dr. Tina Winston have been awarded the Department of Psychology Award for Excellence in Teaching. In addition, we are pleased to announce that Bryan Hendicks, Jeff Henriques, Noah Mackenzie, and Caton Roberts have been identified as Honored Instructors by University Housing. Students living in University Residence Halls identified instructors who made them want to learn more, made a difference in their college career, challenged them to think in a new way, or were simply a favorite. We are fortunate to have so many outstanding teachers supporting our pedagogical goals for our students.

Alibali Receives Faculty Fellow Award
We are delighted to announce that Professor Martha Alibali has received a Letters and Science Faculty Fellow Award. The L&S Faculty Fellow Program is made possible by a number of donors, led by George and Pamala Hamel. This award recognizes outstanding contributions in the areas of research, undergraduate mentoring and teaching, graduate mentoring and teaching, as well as outreach for scholars who received tenure within the last 10 years. The award provides $10,000 in research funding each year for 5 years. Professor Alibali’s extraordinary contributions in each of these areas made her especially deserving of recognition in the form of this award. Congratulations to Professor Alibali on this wonderful achievement!

APRIL 2009
Graduate student, Jennifer Petersen, has won Honorable Mention in the Genevieve Gorst Herfurth Award competition this year. This award recognizes the best graduate student paper in the social sciences at UW, and it's highly competitive precisely because it goes across all the social sciences. Jenni earned honorable mention for her Developmental prelim paper, "A Meta-Analytic Review of Research on Gender Differences in Sexuality."

Ph.D. graduate Christopher Hulleman
has received APA's Division 15 (Educational Psychology) Paul R. Pintrich Outstanding Dissertation Award. Chris received his degree from our department in June of 2007 with Professor Judy Harackiewicz. The title of his dissertation is "The role of utility value in the development of interest and achievement." Chris is currently a postdoctoral fellow at Vanderbilt and will take a faculty position at James Madison University in September, 2009. (Fall 2009 update: a portion of the dissertation has recently been published in Science.)

Psychology Instructors Earn Honors
We are extremely pleased to announce that several of our colleagues have been selected as Honored Instructors by the students of the Chadbourne Residential College in recognition of their quality teaching and positive impact they have on undergraduate education here at the UW- Madison (12% of all the honorees!). The honored instructors include: Becky Addington, Christopher Coe, Bryan Hendricks, Janet Hyde, and Yuri Miyamoto. Congratulations to each of you and thank you for your ongoing efforts to provide outstanding educational experiences for our students!

Arielle Baskin-Sommers
was named co-recipient of the Cheryl Wynne Hare Award for outstanding graduate student research at the conference of the Society for the Scientific Study of Psychopathy on April 18th in New Orleans. This award is a wonderful recognition of the high quality of Arielle's work! Congratulations Arielle!

MARCH 2009
Brian Drwecki
and Vera Tsenkova have each been awarded a Robert Wood Johnson Dissertation Grant. There is stiff competition for these awards and it speaks well to the quality of their dissertation research. Congratulations!

Shanta Hattikudur has been selected as a Writing Across the Curriculum TA Fellow based on her outstanding performance as a Comm-B instructor in Psychology. The session that Shanta led during TA training in late January as a result of this award was highly praised by those in attendance. Nice work Shanta!

Professors Antony Auger and Tim Rogers have been named Vilas Associates.

Congratulations to Professor Wen Li
Professor Li has received the 2009 Young Investigator Award from the Association for Chemoreception Sciences.

Saffran's Teaching Honored
Professor Jenny Saffran
has received the Chancellor's Distinguished Teaching Award in recognition of her dedicated and innovative contributions to the University's teaching mission.

Nicole McNeil
, one of our former graduate students, recently received one of the prestigious Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE)! Nicole and the other PECASE recipients were honored in an award ceremony in December at the White House. The PECASE identifies and honors outstanding young researchers and is the highest honor that a beginning scientist or engineer can receive from the U.S. government. Selection is based on innovative research and community service as demonstrated through scientific leadership, education or outreach. Nine government agencies, including the U.S. Department of Education and the National Science Foundation, nominate candidates for the PECASE program. Nicole is currently an assistant professor in psychology and a fellow of the Institute for Educational Initiatives at the University of Notre Dame. She received her Ph D. from our Department in 2005 under the direction of Professor Martha Alibali. Building on her training with Professor Alibali, Nicole's research focuses on the cognitive mechanisms that propel and constrain the development of problem solving, quantitative reasoning and symbolic understanding. This is a wonderful honor for Nicole and by extension for Professor Alibali and our graduate training program!


BE PART OF THE          
1202 WEST JOHNSON ST, MADISON, WI 53706-1611 OFFICE: (608) 262.1040 or (608) 262.1041 FAX: (608) 262.4029